Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Follow us on:
Finding Full-Text Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journal Articles in GALILEO
After performing a search in GALILEO, make sure that you click on the checkbox to the left of the Full Text option underneath Limit To on the left-hand side of the screen in order to display only those resources that the TU Library currently has full text access to.
And don't forget to click on the checkbox to the left of the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals option in order to filter out resources that haven't been peer-reviewed!
If you start feeling overwhelmed by the number of search results in GALILEO (or you're coming across too many irrelevant search results), then consider searching one of the databases listed on this page. They provide more subject-specific articles covering social work topics (and don't forget to look for their "Full text" and "Peer reviewed" options).
Limiting Search Results by Publication Date in GALILEO
To view the most current results, make sure that you limit your search results by Publication Date: preferably for results published within the last 5 years.
You can change the beginning Publication Date by scrolling along the bar, but this will limit which years you can select.
To select a specific year, first click in the beginning Publication Date box, and then type in the year that you want.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed in this database.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Psychology Journals provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1,000 titles. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.
Public Health Database (ProQuest)
The Public Health Database is the ideal starting point for public health information for students, teachers, researchers, and professionals. It delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences.
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from sources within the discipline, such as: Child Maltreatment, Trauma, and Violence & Abuse. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1995.