MLS 452: Research Methods & Project: Research

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) website offers a variety of options for researching current health issues including, up-to-date information on current diseases and illnesses, vaccine information, general health information, safety, and wellness. Information is available not only for consumers, but for health care professionals as well. Access to statistical data and CDC publications is available.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides access to full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also provides full text for more than 220 books/monographs.

Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, men and women's health, and more.

Contains ca. 12,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities. Open Access

Contains ca. 12,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities. Open Access

ProQuest Family Health covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context; from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.

ProQuest Health and Medical Complete offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals, including many indexed in MEDLINE. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles and more. Conducting searches on the ProQuest platform helps derive relevant clinical data quicker; the deep indexing of records means that core research findings usually hidden in images and figures within articles come to the fore as part of researcher's search results.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.

Connects clinical laboratory professionals with peer-reviewed articles, continuing education courses, lab management tips, regulatory updates, industry trends, and new product reviews. MLO delivers a monthly print magazine and digital edition, daily e-newsletters (LABline), monthly product spotlights, and a comprehensive website. Open Access

MEDLINE with Full Text combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for over 1,300 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, most have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. MEDLINE with Full Text includes over 500 titles not included in Academic Search Complete.

Information for health professionals about drugs, diseases, procedures, anatomy, and medical news. Features an extensive image collection. Mobile friendly. App available. Free resource; users must register and login.

The Merck Manuals Professional Edition offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy. Daily news feeds, expert commentary on the news, quizzes, information on drugs, and lots more illustrations, animations, and photos. The Professional Version also has interactive case studies and “How-To” videos. Content is updated monthly to keep current with changes in medical care.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

The Public Health Database is the ideal starting point for public health information for students, teachers, researchers, and professionals. It delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences.

PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

ProQuest Science Journals is a resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.