Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDU 610: Educational Research: Postgraduate Research

Contact Us

tulibrary@thomasu.edu

229-227-6959

Make an appointment with a Librarian 

Make an appointment with a Tutor 

 



Follow us on:

 

Postgraduate Research

What is ERIC?

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) was founded in 1964 in order to make education research and information more accessible to researchers, government officials, and the general public. There had been an increase in education research, but there was no easy way to search for or access that information.

Why is there more than one ERIC database?

The search results that are displayed in both databases are the same, but the full-text access might be different. Any member of the public, regardless of location or organizational affiliation, can access the full-text resources that are available from the U.S. Department of Education's ERIC site.

When a TU student or employee searches EBSCOhost's ERIC database that's available through GALILEO, they'll be able to access additional full-text articles from journals that the library subscribes to. If you search GALILEO through a public library or K-12 school, you'll have access to whichever journals that organization subscribes to.

In other words, if you search the ed.gov ERIC site, forget to limit your search to Full text available on ERIC, and find an article that isn't available, you can try searching GALILEO for full-text access to that article!

Sources

ERIC. (n.d.). 50 years of ERIC: 1964-2014 [PDF file]. Retrieved from https://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_Retrospective.pdf

What is GALILEO?

GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online (GALILEO) is a collection of databases that provides access to thousands of full-text journals, government publications, encyclopedias, business directories, and other resources.

Who has access to GALILEO resources?

Over 2000 Georgia institutions provide access to GALILEO: including public libraries; public and private K-12 schools; and the public, private, and technical colleges and universities.

GALILEO resources are available through institutional subscriptions, requiring potential users to either be physically located at the library or use a password/other authentication method when researching outside of the library.

Since different types of institutions subscribe to different types of resources, the journals that are available through your K-12 school or local public library won't be the same ones that you're able to access as a TU student.

Sources

GALILEO. (2019). About the initiative. Retrieved from https://about.galileo.usg.edu/

What is the What Works Clearinghouse?

The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) reviews and summarizes educational research according to a specific set of standards. They take the guess-work out of deciding which studies are well-designed and have worthwhile findings, providing educators with high-quality information about evidence-based practices and programs.

What is available through the WWC?

Sources

Institute of Education Sciences. (n.d.). What we do. Retrieved from https://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/WhatWeDo

What is the DOAJ?

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles that don't require a subscription in order to access them. In other words, anyone can access them from anywhere without having to first log in, provide a password, or otherwise identify who they are. They're open educational resources (OERs).

How do I use the DOAJ?

When using the DOAJ, you can either browse or search through journals, articles, or both. There are several filters on the left-hand side of the screen that you'll want to pay close attention to:

  • Journals vs Articles
    • Click on either Journals or Articles if you want to limit your search to one or the other.
  • Subject
  • DOAJ Seal
    • For best results, click on Yes to filter out lower-quality resources.
  • Full Text Language

As of July 17, 2019, eight English-language education journals have received the DOAJ Seal: