Research Guides: EDU 600: Introduction to Graduate Programs: GALILEO

Contact Us

tulibrary@thomasu.edu

229-227-6959

For help logging in to GALILEO off-campus, visit the following page:

OpenAthens

If you ever need an item that the library doesn't own, fill out an ILL Request Form, and the library will try to borrow a copy for you.

Interlibrary Loan Form

If you're using GALILEO through your school's website/server, you'll get different results than through Thomas University. Make sure you're not using an IP proxy login if you want TU resources.

Use either the Basic Search or Advanced Search features to find articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines, as well as other published materials such as eBooks, photographs, videos, and more.

Search for broad topics that are interdisciplinary and not too specific.
Start your research by using the main search feature in GALILEO before moving to subject-specific databases or journals.
It's always best to use the Advanced Search option so that you can customize your search terms.

You can Browse by Subject to find articles for general research, as well as identify databases that have materials other than academic articles, such as government records or industry profiles.

Select the subject that's most relevant for your information needs to see a list of recommended databases.
Read the descriptions to determine which best fits what you're looking for.
If you start using one database and don't like your search results, go back to the subject page and try another database.
It's best to try all of the databases and familiarize yourself with what they offer so that you can get diverse search results.

You can Browse by Type to find a specific kind of material. In addition to primary sources, you can find dictionaries, encyclopedias, images, maps, multimedia, newspapers, statistics, and more.

Instead of using Wikipedia to get basic, background information on a topic or person, you can use the Encyclopaedia Britannica Online.
It's okay to cite the encyclopedia in a footnote as additional information that doesn't flow well in your paper, but remember to use evidence from scholarly articles to support the claims that you're making in your research papers.

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

Criteria	Scholarly Journal	Popular Magazine
Example
Content	In-depth, primary account of original findings written by the researcher(s); very specific information, with the goal of scholarly communication.	Secondary discussion of someone else's research; may include personal narrative or opinion; general information, purpose is to entertain or inform.
Author	Author's credentials are provided; usually a scholar or specialist with subject expertise.	Author is frequently a journalist paid to write articles, may or may not have subject expertise.
Audience	Scholars, researchers, and students.	General public; the interested non-specialist.
Language	Specialized terminology or jargon of the field; requires expertise in subject area.	Vocabulary in general usage; easily understandable to most readers.
Graphics	Graphs, charts, and tables; very few advertisements and photographs.	Graphs, charts and tables; lots of glossy advertisements and photographs.
Layout & Organization	Structured; includes the article abstract, goals and objectives, methodology, results (evidence), discussion, conclusion, and bibliography.	Informal; may include non-standard formatting. May not present supporting evidence or a conclusion.
Accountability	Articles are evaluated by peer-reviewers* or referees who are experts in the field; edited for content, format, and style.	Articles are evaluated by editorial staff, not experts in the field; edited for format and style.
References	Required. Quotes and facts are verifiable.	Rare. Little, if any, information about source materials is given.
Other Examples	Annals of Mathematics, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, History of Education Quarterly, Almost anything with Journal in the title.	Time, Newsweek, The Nation, The Economist

(Modified table from Tufts)