Developing your research topic is an evolving part of the research process. Learn more from this short video produced by the North Carolina State University Libraries.
Learn More:
Choosing a Research Topic from Florida Gulf Coast University Library.
How to Select a Research Topic In-depth guide to developing research topics from the University of Michigan Flint.
Seneca Libraries: How Do I Narrow Down My Research Topic? A helpful FAQ from Seneca Libraries with tips on narrowing down a research topic.
Selecting and Narrowing a Topic: From the Indiana University Libraries' Research Essentials guide.
Databases from the GALILEO portal:
Other health-related databases:
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: a Practical Guide by
This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
Literature Review Guide from the University of West Florida
Empirical research articles are scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles that are based on data collected during the authors' real-life experiments or observations. They are primary research documents that contain either qualitative or quantitative research methods:
College of Southern Maryland. CSM Library. (2018, Jan. 19). Empirical research article. Retrieved July 15, 2019, from https://libguides.csmd.edu/empirical_research
Pan, M. L. (2016). Preparing literature reviews: Qualitative and quantitative approaches (5th ed.). New York, NY: Routledge.
Penn State University Libraries. (2019, May 9). Empirical research in the social sciences and education. Retrieved July 15, 2019, from https://guides.libraries.psu.edu/emp
University of La Verne. Wilson Library. (2018, June 26). Identify empirical research articles. Retrieved July 15, 2019, from https://laverne.libguides.com/empirical-articles
Refine your research topic to an answerable question that is innovative, clearly defined, and focused on problem resolution. Your question should include distinct concepts for analysis and not be too broad or too narrow in scope.
Once you have established an answerable research question, determine your question’s research need. Does your question address a "gap" within the literature? Does it address a larger societal impact or importance? If not, you may have to formulate a new or modified question.
To assess your topic’s research need, conduct a preliminary literature search in at least one appropriate database. Based on search results, refine your topic by either addressing a related unanswered question, choosing another population, or shifting to another topic altogether.
Source: Adapted from "Research, Writing and Publishing: Review Scholarly Literature," The Maguire Medical Library, Florida State University
Before searching databases, break your research topic/question into key words and concepts.
Example Research Question
How do social networking sites impact health and well-being in adolescents?
Concept + Key Words
| Social Networking | Adolescents | Mental Health |
| social media, Facebok, Snapchat, Twitter... | teens, teenagers, preteen, high school... | mental illness, depression, anxiety, suicide... |
