Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What will you find in GALILEO? All these things and more!
Popular and Scholarly Journal Articles | Encyclopedia and Dictionary Entries | eBooks | Images and Maps | Multimedia | Newspapers | Statistics
There are many ways to use GALILEO:
Basic Search | Advanced Search | Browse by Subject | Browse by Type | Databases A-Z | Journals A-Z
For help logging in to GALILEO off-campus, visit the following page:
If you ever need an item that the library doesn't own, fill out an ILL Request Form, and the library will try to borrow a copy for you.
Interlibrary Loan Form
Need an item that TU doesn't have? Interlibrary loan it! Fill out this form entirely; be aware that some ILL charges may apply; and a member of the library staff will be in touch!
Basic & Advanced Search
Use either the Basic Search or Advanced Search features to find articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines, as well as other published materials such as eBooks, photographs, videos, and more.
- Search for broad topics that are interdisciplinary and not too specific.
- Start your research by using the main search feature in GALILEO before moving to subject-specific databases or journals.
- It's always best to use the Advanced Search option so that you can customize your search terms.
Browse by Subject
You can Browse by Subject to find articles for general research, as well as identify databases that have materials other than academic articles, such as government records or industry profiles.
- Select the subject that's most relevant for your information needs to see a list of recommended databases.
- Read the descriptions to determine which best fits what you're looking for.
- If you start using one database and don't like your search results, go back to the subject page and try another database.
- It's best to try all of the databases and familiarize yourself with what they offer so that you can get diverse search results.
Browse by Type
You can Browse by Type to find a specific kind of material. In addition to primary sources, you can find dictionaries, encyclopedias, images, maps, multimedia, newspapers, statistics, and more.
- Instead of using Wikipedia to get basic, background information on a topic or person, you can use the Encyclopaedia Britannica Online.
- It's okay to cite the encyclopedia in a footnote as additional information that doesn't flow well in your paper, but remember to use evidence from scholarly articles to support the claims that you're making in your research papers.