Skip to main content

Thomas University Library Policies: Home

Thomas University Library Policies

Contact Info

Library Hours

Fall 2019*

Monday - Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Friday
8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. (noon)

Saturday & Sunday
CLOSED

*Excluding Holidays

Borrowing and Lending Policies

COPYRIGHT

The Thomas University Library actively promotes compliance with the U.S. Copyright Law (17 U.S.C) in conjunction with Fair Use guidelines and prohibits copying or use of copyrighted materials not specifically permitted or exempted by law. 

All reserve and interlibrary loan items must adhere to the United States Copyright Law.

Reserve Use:

It is the Library's policy that a faculty member or department obtains permission from the copyright owner for reserve services when applicable. Documented proof of permission must be provided to the Library.  All fees for copyright permission must be paid by the individual or the department to the copyright owner. The University places liability for willful infringement of copyright upon the person making or requesting the copy, or using the material.  If concerns arise regarding an item's copyright legality, library faculty or the university attorney will review copyright laws that pertain to the item or situation to determine whether or not the item can be used as intended.      

Typically, you can place the following items on reserve without owner permission:

Single copies of an article

One chapter  of a book

An entire poem

All items should contain a notice of copyright.  All items shall become the personal property of the instructor at the end of the semester.  If the item is to be placed on reserve every semester, advance written notice from the copyright owner is required.

Interlibrary Loan Use:

The library may photocopy for the purposes of Interlibrary Loan.  More than five (5) requests from any one title published within the past  five years from a magazine to which the library does not subscribe is considered excessive and interpreted as an evasion of the purchase of a periodical.

Copyright Infringement:

Chapter 5 of Title 17 of the United States Code in part states:

§ 501. Infringement of copyright3

(a) Anyone who violates any of the exclusive rights of the copyright owner as provided by sections 106 through 122 or of the author as provided in section 106A(a), or who imports copies or phonorecords into the United States in violation of section 602, is an infringer of the copyright or right of the author, as the case may be. For purposes of this chapter (other than section 506), any reference to copyright shall be deemed to include the rights conferred by section 106A(a). As used in this subsection, the term “anyone” includes any State, any instrumentality of a State, and any officer or employee of a State or instrumentality of a State acting in his or her official capacity. Any State, and any such instrumentality, officer, or employee, shall be subject to the provisions of this title in the same manner and to the same extent as any nongovernmental entity.

(b) The legal or beneficial owner of an exclusive right under a copyright is entitled, subject to the requirements of section 411, to institute an action for any infringement of that particular right committed while he or she is the owner of it. The court may require such owner to serve written notice of the action with a copy of the complaint upon any person shown, by the records of the Copyright Office or otherwise, to have or claim an interest in the copyright, and shall require that such notice be served upon any person whose interest is likely to be affected by a decision in the case. The court may require the joinder, and shall permit the intervention, of any person having or claiming an interest in the copyright. 

Full text of Chapter 5 can be found at:  The US Copyright Office Website 

Fair Use – US Code Title 17, Section 107

The Fair Use Doctrine limits the exclusive rights defined in Section 106 of the U.S. Copyright Act and supports the use of copyrighted works in scholarship, teaching, and learning. Fair Use is the limited right of others to use copyrighted materials.

“Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 106 and 106A, the fair use of a copyrighted work, including such use by reproduction in copies or phonorecords or by any other means specified by that section, for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching (including multiple copies for classroom use), scholarship, or research, is not an infringement of copyright…”

Section 107 of U.S. Copyright Law further states that there are four factors to be considered when deciding if Fair Use is applicable:

The purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of commercial nature or is for nonprofit education purposes

The nature of the copyrighted work

Amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole

The effect of the use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work

Fair use is applicable to both print and digital content.  Fair Use must be considered when posting excerpts of copyrighted works in course management systems

Fair Use Checklist

The fair use checklist utilized within the University System of Georgia is a tool which can assist you in making a reasoned and balanced application of the four fair use factors in determining whether a given use of a work is a fair use.  It outlines various circumstances that are important to the evaluation of fair use and derives from the four fair use factors and from judicial decisions interpreting copyright law.  Faculty can fill out the checklist and keep it on file if questions arise about the particular classroom or other use.

Teach Act

Digitized copyrighted materials are affected by the TEACH Act, regardless of the original format of the materials. The Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization (TEACH) Act was enacted in November 2002 as an amendment to the Copyright Act of 1976. Found in section 110(2) of the Act, it covers distance education as well as face to face teaching which has an online, web enhanced, transmitted or broadcast component. It exempts from liability the transmission, including over a digital network, of a performance or display of a copyrighted work by an accredited non-profit educational institution to students officially enrolled in a course or a government body to officers or employees of government as a part of their official duties or employment.

Helpful Teach Act links:

Copyright Crash Course by University of Texas

https://copyright.lib.utexas.edu/teachact.html

Copyright Clearance Center and the Teach Act

http://www.copyright.com/Services/copyrightoncampus/basics/

North Carolina State University Teach Act Toolkit

http://www.provost.ncsu.edu/copyright/toolkit/

Copyright Information:

Title 17 of the U.S. Code

http://www.copyright.gov/title17/

Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998

http://www.copyright.gov/title17/

University System of Georgia Copyright, Fair Use, & Electronic Reserve Policy

http://www.usg.edu/copyright

(USG) Fair Use Checklist

http://www.usg.edu/images/copyright_docs/fair_use_checklist.pdf

Code of Best Practices in Fair Use by Association of Research Libraries

http://www.arl.org/focus-areas/copyright-ip/fair-use/code-of-best-practices#.Vc0GC3nltD8

Copyright Clearance Center basics of copyright

https://www.copyright.com/Services/copyrightoncampus/

Other copyright overviews can be found at the following URLs:

Copyright at Kennesaw University:  

https://www.kennesaw.edu/library/copyright/fairuse.htm

Copyright at Columbus State University:

https://library.columbusstate.edu/copyright.php

Library Reserves are available in print at the circulation desk.

All full or part time instructors may place circulating library materials or their own personal materials on reserve for their classes, for one semester at a time. Materials may be placed on reserve at any time during the semester.

At the end of each semester, all items will be taken off reserve. The instructor must claim personal items within one week of the start of the following semester, or they will be considered gifts to the library. The library may then add the items to the permanent collection if deemed appropriate, or dispose of the items.

No library-owned reference materials will be placed on reserve as they will always be available in the library. However, photocopies of articles can be placed on reserve for one semester.

Instructors must indicate if they wish the materials to be used in the library only, or if items may be checked out of the library for a specified period of time. Students keeping library owned reserve items longer than the specified period of time will be charged $1.00 per day overdue. If a library owned item on reserve is lost by a student, replacement costs of the item plus a $5.00 processing fee will be charged to the student. If an instructor's personal copy is lost by the student, the instructor will decide the consequences for the student.

Lost Materials

All patrons are responsible for the replacement costs of Thomas University Library materials that are not returned, plus a non-refundable processing fee. Overdue fines are also assessed if applicable. If lost materials are later found and returned after payment of all fines and fees, the replacement cost of the item will be returned, but NOT the processing fee or any overdue fines which were collected.

An item is considered LOST when:

  • It has been overdue for approximately 30 days. Once an item is deemed “Lost”, a replacement cost and a processing fee, along with the overdue fine, are assessed and a “Bill” is generated and sent to the patron.
  • Or, when a patron notifies circulation staff that they have lost the item.  If the item is reported lost before the return due date, the patron is not liable for overdue fines.

A default price for “Lost” items may be reflected on the “Bill” until a replacement cost can be determined. 

A hold will be placed upon the patron’s account until the account is cleared.

Damaged Materials

All patrons are responsible for damages to Thomas University Library materials which occur while in their possession.  Such damages include:

  • Liquid, water, mold damage
  • Marking or drawing on the pages
  • Torn out pages
  • Teeth/bite marks
  • Broken/ripped covers
  • Dirt, smoke, foul odor damage

Damaged material will be assessed upon return to the library.  It will then be determined if the item needs to be replaced or, in a few cases, rebound. 

If the item needs to be replaced, the patron will be accessed a replacement cost, a $5.00 processing fee, and/or an overdue fee if applicable.  If an item is rebound, the minimum rebinding charge is $15.00 plus a $5.00 processing fee.

Damaged materials are the property of Thomas University Library and are not returned to the patron. 

Different fine/fee policies apply to items borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.  Patrons are liable to the owning library for costs incurred according to that library’s policies. 

 

Thomas University Library appreciates gifts of materials that support the University’s instructional and research programs and enhance the Library’s collections.

Due to space limitations, costs associated with processing and the donation’s relevance to the collection, the Library is able to accept gifts that meet the following criteria.

Donated materials accepted by the Thomas University Library become the property of the library and can be used as the library chooses.

We Accept:

Scholarly books not already included in the collection

Works that fill gaps in the collection

Rare books

Primary source material, such as archives and correspondence

We Do Not Accept:

Materials in poor condition

Resources in outdated formats

Textbooks

Popular fiction or magazines, such as National Geographic

Incomplete or single issues of periodicals

Titles already held within the Library’s collections

If your material does not meet the above criteria, please find a list of other local organizations that may accept your donation here.

Appraisal and Tax Information

The Library does not appraise the value of gifts. Appraisals are the responsibility of the donor

For more information, please refer to United States tax regulations. Of particular note may be Publication 561, “Determining the Value of Donated Property”; Publication 526, “Charitable Contributions”; and Form 8283, “Noncash Charitable Contributions” appraisal summary.

Standard Circulating Materials

Thomas University faculty and staff can request an extended circulation period for standard circulating library materials that need to be kept for teaching and/or research purposes for as long as one full semester.  This does not include serials or computer equipment. If an item is checked out for the semester and is requested by another library patron, a library staff member will make contact and request that the item be returned within 48 hours.  All items must be returned within one week of the end of the semester. All items that remain checked out in excess of one month beyond the due date are subject to our Long Overdue Policy

Computer Equipment

Thomas University faculty and staff are allowed the privilege to check out equipment (digital projectors, digital recorders, video cameras, Kindle, etc.).  The checkout period for equipment is 48 hours.  The only time that this period will be extended will be to include weekend days and holidays when the library is physically closed.  A late fee of $0.50 will be incurred for each day that equipment is overdue.  ALL faculty and staff will be required to pay this overdue equipment fee.  It is not the responsibility of the library to provide computer equipment for continued personal use. 

These policies are in effect to protect the property of the library and to ensure that materials can be made available when needed for all patrons.

Interlibrary Loan is a service through which current Thomas University Faculty, Staff, and students may obtain material that is needed for research and is not available in Thomas University Library collections. Borrowers must be able to pick up their ILL from the Thomas University Library, unless borrower is a Distance Learner/Faculty (see below). This service is limited to current Thomas University faculty, students and staff. Non-TU users are encouraged to contact their local public library about their interlibrary loan service.

Online requests may be submitted any time through the library catalog https://thomasu.on.worldcat.org/discovery or the library website: thomasu.edu/library. For questions about ILL contact tulibrary@thomasu.edu or call 229-227-6959.

The TU Library will not request an item through ILL that it currently owns unless special permission is granted by a Librarian.

Distance Learners/Faculty

Currently enrolled TU students and Faculty residing 45+ miles from Thomasville, Georgia and taking or teaching all of their classes online may request mail delivery of TU library books and media (return postage is the responsibility of the borrower.) 

Charge for Services

The TU library does NOT absorb extra fees for ILL. While most lending libraries will not charge a fee there are some institutions that will charge for ILL. You are asked to designate on your ILL request whether or not you are willing to pay for ILL. This will not determine whether or not your request will be sent or the speediness of your request. IF you designate that you are willing to pay for an ILL you will be notified via e-mail and/or letter if the lending library sends charges to TU. All transactions must be handled through the Business Office.

Items not available through ILL

Please be aware that some items are more difficult to obtain than others and may not lend without a charge:

  • Recently published items
  • Textbooks, study guides, or workbooks
  • Reference works
  • Rare and/or fragile books
  • Audiovisual material
  • Works of genealogy
  • Items from outside North America or Western Europe

Loan Period

The loan period for books, audiovisual, and other material is generally six weeks. A renewal may be requested if more time is needed. Some lending libraries will charge a late fee for overdue ILL items so be prompt with returns or requests for renewals.

ILL articles are not expected to be returned.

Picking Up Requested Material

Books and other ILL items must be picked up from the Circulation desk in the TU Library on the Forbes campus. ILL articles will be sent electronically to the borrower’s e-mail address.

Copyright Restrictions

The Thomas University Library actively promotes compliance with the U.S. Copyright Law (17 U.S.C) in conjunction with Fair Use guidelines and prohibits copying or use of copyrighted materials not specifically permitted or exempted by law.

All reserve and interlibrary loan items must adhere to the United States Copyright Law.

The library may photocopy for the purposes of Interlibrary Loan.  More than five (5) requests from any one title published within the past  five years from a magazine to which the library does not subscribe is considered excessive and interpreted as an evasion of the purchase of a periodical.

For more information on copyright visit the TU Library website.

Thomas University Faculty, Staff, and students may place a hold on TU Library items through the TU Catalog by using their library account. Holds will be available for pickup at the front desk for 1 week. Holds not retrieved within 1 week will be returned to the shelf.

Long Overdue Items

All Thomas University Library items not returned after 30 days will be considered “Long Overdue” and the patron will be sent a bill in the amount of the item’s replacement cost plus a processing fee of $5 for the item.  These fees, not including the late fee, can be waived when/if the item is returned in good condition.

When paying for damaged/lost items patrons will need to pay for accrued late fees, replacement cost of item, and the processing fee of $5.

The library does not accept substitute materials to replace damaged or lost items.

Students:

Library bills will be added to student accounts. All fines and fees must be paid in the Thomas University Business Office or online via the student portal.

Faculty/Staff:

Library bills will be sent to Human Resources for payroll deduction if the book is not returned after three months since receiving the Long Overdue bill.

Refunds on Returned Lost or Missing Items

No refunds are given for any fines or fees once they have been sent to the Business Office or Human Resources.

Thomas University participates in a reciprocal borrowing agreement with all Southern Regional Technical College branch libraries. This service allows the TU community to borrow materials and resources not available in the TU Library.  Eligibility for this program requires patrons to be in good standing with the Thomas University Library; that is, to be a currently enrolled student or an actively employed staff or faculty member, and to not have lost books, overdue items, or unpaid library charges.

Eligible TU patrons must provide a Thomas University Identification Card at any SRTC branch library in order to participate in the program.

Thomas University Library supports currently enrolled students and actively employed faculty and staff of Thomas University. Thomas University Library patrons must present their TU identification card prior to checking out any materials.

Loan periods and privileges are determined by a patron’s status. See privilege descriptions below.

The library also provides limited services to community members. Community members may not borrow any materials or check out any study rooms from the library. They are limited to using all materials in the library. Up to three community members may use the computers at a time.

Thomas University participates in Interlibrary Loans for students, faculty, and staff only.


Thomas University Library Patron Circulation Policy Chart

 

Type

Patron

Expiration

Loan Period

Renewals*

Limits

Fines/Fees***

General

Student

End of Semester

3 Weeks

2

5

¢10/day

General

Faculty/Staff

1 year

Semester Long

    No Limit

No Limit

N/A

Media

Student

3 Weeks

2

5

¢25/day

Media

Faculty/Staff

Semester Long

1

0

N/A

Reference

Faculty/Staff

1 Week

0

0

$1/day

Archives

All

N/A

0

0

N/A

AV Equipment (Kindle/Laptop)

Faculty/Staff

Semester Long

0

3

N/A

AV Equipment (projector/screen)

Faculty/Staff

3 days**

1

N/A

N/A

ILL

Student

28 days

**

5

N/A

ILL

Faculty/Staff

28 days

**

5

N/A

*Renewals are available if there are not holds placed on the material

***Fines/Fees for Student users must be reconciled before checking out new items

 

Loading ...

Other Library Policies

The library strives to maintain a professional and studious atmosphere for all users. We ask that all patrons adhere to the following; 

  • Food is permitted in the library.
  • Beverages in re-closable covered containers are allowed in the 2 labs and most areas of the library.
  • No Food or Drink is allowed in the Birdwood Archives Room

Library users are expected to clean up after themselves and report any spills or mess as soon as possible.

Thomas University Library is a proud supporter of events and services that are offered by the Thomas University community. However, all advertising is limited to the two bulletin boards located outside at the front of the Library when available. The Library reserves the right to advertise library related events in other ways within the library space.

Bulletin Boards

The Thomas University Library Bulletin Boards are intended for notices and other materials related to the program and goals of the Library. Normally, commercial advertisements, promotions, etc., are not to be displayed on these bulletin boards. The Director of Library Services or a designee reserves the right to remove materials deemed inappropriate.

Library guidelines regarding items posted on the bulletin boards in the Morris Library are as follows:

  • Each item should be dated.
  • Only one copy of an item is to be posted in the Commons.
  • Outdated materials are to be removed by the sponsoring organization or individual.
  • All Commons bulletin boards will be cleared of dated materials periodically and will be cleared of all materials regularly after the completion of a semester or term.

Thomas University Libraries are dedicated to providing a positive, welcoming, and enriching experience for all members of the community.

We value diversity of thought, perspective, experience, and background and are actively committed to a culture of inclusion and respect. We ask that our patrons show consideration towards one another and take care of the physical space and materials as resources for all.

Patrons who experience or witness any questionable behavior in the Libraries are encouraged to approach a staff member. Patron privacy is important to us, and our staff is available to address any concerns or questions.

Thomas University Library is committed to protecting patron privacy as a critical component of intellectual and academic freedom on campus. The guarantee of privacy is supported by federal and state law, and by the privacy policies of Thomas University. TU Library limits the collection of personal information to what is relevant and necessary to conduct library business, e.g. patron name, university identification, and items borrowed. We retain that information only as long as it is needed to complete transactions or provide service. Information in a personal library record is considered confidential and will not be released by the Library to a third party except by court order or legal search warrant.

While the library makes every effort to negotiate the protection of user information in licensing agreements with outside database vendors, the University does not govern the privacy practices of those vendors. Users, therefore, should read the privacy statement on each Web site to determine these practices.

The Thomas University Library has two private study room available for 2 hour check out by current Thomas University students, faculty and staff.  The study room is available upon a first-come, first-served basis and can be renewed if there is no one waiting. The study room is available any time during the library’s regular operating hours during the semester.

The study rooms at Thomas University cannot be reserved unless they are being used for a library related event. The TU library will monitor this room for activity and maintains the right to eject anyone from this room and the library if suspected of inappropriate behavior or room usage.  Any damaged room furnishings will be charged to the student’s account.

If a patron leaves the room the Library is not responsible for any materials left behind. If a patron leaves the room for more than 30 minutes they forfeit.

Loading ...