Social Work: Research

Current Research in Social Psychology (CRISP) is a peer reviewed, electronic journal publishing theoretically driven, empirical research in major areas of social psychology. Publication is sponsored by the Center for the Study of Group Processes at the University of Iowa, which provides free access to its contents. Authors retain copyright for their work. CRISP is permanently archived at the Library of the University of Iowa and at the Library of Congress. Beginning in April, 2000, Sociological Abstracts publishes the abstracts of CRISP articles.

[Social Work:] Contains ca. 12,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Social Work and Society (SW&S) is an international open access journal in the fields of social work and social policy, founded in 2003. An international network of social scientists and political activists is accountable for publishing SW&S.

THE NEW SOCIAL WORKER®, the social work careers magazine, has been published since 1994. Each issue provides practical articles on social work students, social work ethics, field placement, practice issues, practice specialties, technology in social work, book reviews, and more. The quarterly magazine for social work students, recent graduates, and others interested in the social work profession, was founded by Linda May Grobman, MSW, ACSW, LSW.

Psychotherapy Networker is a nonprofit educational organization dedicated to offering practical guidance, creative inspiration, and community support to therapists around the world. Whether you want to stay informed about new ideas and current debates in the field, connect with colleagues who share your professional interests, or just keep the spirit of discovery alive and well in your work, Psychotherapy Networker provides indispensable guidance and resources for your practice.

PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Now in its 15th year of publication, Social Work Today is established as an essential resource for social work professionals. Our in-depth content examines the difficult issues, challenges, and successes of social workers. Across the media spectrum, Social Work Today celebrates the common bond among social workers, in all their distinct roles and varied work settings.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are accurate, objective, relevant, timely, and accessible.

Founded in 1952, the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) is the national association representing social work education in the United States. Its members include over 750 accredited baccalaureate and master’s degree social work programs, as well as individual social work educators, practitioners, and agencies dedicated to advancing quality social work education. Through its many initiatives, activities, and centers, CSWE supports quality social work education and provides opportunities for leadership and professional development, so that social workers play a central role in achieving the profession’s goals of social and economic justice. CSWE’s Commission on Accreditation is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as the sole accrediting agency for social work education in the United States and its territories.

The International Association for Social Work with Groups (IASWG), Inc. is the premier international association for social workers and allied helping professionals engaged in group work. The purpose of this non-profit, member-driven organization is to promote excellence in group work practice, education, field instruction, research and publication. The goals of this Association are realized through a program of action and advocacy at both the local and international levels. Members include group workers from Australia, Barbados, Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, England, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Lithuania, Namibia, Netherlands, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Trinidad-Tobago, and U.S.

Founded in 1955, the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world, with more than 120,000 members. NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.

The Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR), founded in 1993, is a non‐profit, professional membership organization. SSWR supports social workers, social welfare professionals, social work students, social work faculty and researchers in related fields.