Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NSG 618: Advanced Pharmacotherapeutics, Pathophysiology and Health Assessment
Course description from catalog.
Follow us on:
These ebooks are additional supplementary course materials available through the library.
Anatomical Chart Company Atlas of Pathophysiology by Comprehensive and practical, the freshly updated Anatomical Chart Company Atlas of Pathophysiology, 4th Edition , offers nearly 450 illustrations that demonstrate the causes, symptoms, and progression of more than 200 disorders. Clear and simple explanations of each disorder are followed by rationales for proven clinical interventions. This backup to classroom texts is also a handy on-the-unit reference for nurses and other healthcare professionals, and support for patient education. At-a-glance answers--and the right interventions--for more than 200 disorders in a quick-read format ... NEW includes a free eBook download see details below NEWand updated content illustrating and explaining the most common conditions, with topics presented alphabetically: Central concepts--cells, cancer, infection, genetics, and fluids and electrolytes Disorders affecting each body system--respiratory, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, hematologic, immunologic, endocrine, and reproductive--as well as renal, skin, and sensory disorders Each disease entry presents an introduction, causes, pathophysiology, complications, signs and symptoms, diagnostic test results, and treatment, with facing page showing a detailed illustration to help you visualize the disease process Easy-to-locate content in an easy-read template that tackles numerous topics found in daily practice, such as: Diseases and disorders that need immediate attention, such as pulmonary embolism, depression, and glaucoma The differences between prehypertension and Stage 1 hypertension Which parts of the brain are affected by generalized seizures, as opposed to partial seizures Lifestyle changes to recommend to a patient with high plasma glucose The causes of carpel tunnel syndrome 450 large, detailed, full-color illustrations from Anatomical Chart Company to help you differentiate among symptoms and disorders that appear similar Icons that offer important tips, including: Age Alert - how pathophysiologic processes--incidence, onset, and clinical appearance--appear in different age groups, such as aortic aneurysm, atypical myocardial infarction, and Parkinson's disease Clinical Tips - advice on areas such as improving auscultation in myocarditis, evaluating diagnostic test results in suspected spinal injuries, early recognition of life-threatening symptoms in myasthenia gravis, respiration changes in peritonitis, and more Complications - identifies common progressions of untreated or worsening conditions Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Julie Stewart, DNP, MPH, MSN, FNP-BC, AAHIVS, is an Associate Professor and Director of the Family Nurse Practitioner and Doctor of Nursing Practice Programs at Sacred Heart University, College of Nursing, in Fairfield, Connecticut.
Publication Date: 2017-12-12
Nurses! Test Yourself in Pathophysiology by "This book provides extensive coverage of each of the human body systems. It relates pathophysiology to the clinical environment, relevant investigations and treatments for disease. A useful text for both newly qualified and student nurses." Amy Hutchinson, Student Nurse, University of Ulster, UK "From a nursing student perspective this book is excellent... It is laid out very well allowing the reader to learn individual body systems in manageable chunks. The chapters are well introduced and include pointers to useful learning resources and background reading... and the answers are concise yet contain enough detail to ensure readability and retention of detail. Every nursing student should have this book." Conor Hamilton, Student, Queen's University Belfast "As a student nurse I am always looking for ways to enhance my learning and this book provides an excellent resource for this purpose. Working on the wards and desperately trying to recall all the physiology knowledge you are taught at university is not always easy... Nurses! Test yourself in Pathophysiology has been invaluable to my being able to remember the information. These bite-size chapters will be extremely useful if you need to revise pathophysiology for an exam, or when preparing for a particular placement. This book will make an excellent investment for a student at any stage in their course." Sarah Galloway, Student Nurse, University of Wolverhampton, UK "This book contains a substantial bank of questions which will prove very useful to any enthusiastic student wishing to actively learn and revise pathophysiology. The simple structure and expanded answers provide effective feedback, adding value and support for learning. The book will be a useful partner to support many of the pathophysiology textbooks currently available. It should be included on recommended reading lists for students. It will also find a useful place in support of teaching and professional development." Jim Jolly, Head of Academic Unit for Long Term Conditions, School of Healthcare, University of Leeds, UK "This book will be a helpful tool for all student nurses (regardless of branch), newly qualified nurses and nurses returning to practice. The language used in the book is easy to understand and I found the layout to be very user friendly and ideal for revising. I would recommend this book to all my colleagues." Colette Seddon, Student Nurse, University of Bedfordshire, UK Looking for a quick and effective way to revise and test your knowledge? This handy book is the essential self-test resource to help nurses revise and prepare for their pathophysiology exams. The book covers a broad range of conditions common to nursing practice including pneumonia, diabetes, asthma, eczema and more. The book includes over 300 questions and 70 glossary terms in total, and each chapter has: Multiple choice questions True or false questions Labelling exercises Fill in the blank questions The book includes chapters on: Integumentary system Musculoskeletal system Nervous system Endocrine system Cardiovascular system Respiratory system Digestive system Urinary system Reproductive system Written by lecturers at one of the UK's top nursing schools, this test book is sure to help you improve your results - and tackle your exams with confidence!
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual! by Know the how and why of common conditions--and assess them accurately--with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition . Fully illustrated in the popular Made Incredibly Visual style, this essential guide offers easy-to-follow explanations for the causes and mechanisms of numerous common disorders, listing symptoms and indications for each. Use this as the perfect study guide for the NCLEX® or certification exam, to support class materials, and to absorb the pathophysiology principles every nurse needs to know. Absorb the expert wisdom and insights of this invaluable guide . . . Walks you through the development stages of numerous diseases and disorders , illustrating their cellular process, symptoms, and effects on tissue and organs Explains cell parts and their functions , as well as cell division, adaptation, injury, and stress and disease Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explaining key concepts and providing clear direction on how to recognize common conditions Supports accurate diagnosis and treatment - Common disorders for each major body system, such as: Cardiovascular - Acute coronary syndromes, aortic aneurysms, cardiomyopathy Respiratory - ARDS, asthma, chronic bronchitis, lung cancer Neurologic - Alzheimer's, cerebral aneurysm, migraine headaches Gastrointestinal - Cholecystitis, cirrhosis, Crohn's disease Musculoskeletal - Carpal tunnel syndrome, herniated disk, osteoarthritis Hematologic - Anemia, leukemia, sickle cell disease Immune - AIDS, allergic rhinitis, rheumatoid arthritis Endocrine - Adrenal hypofunction, diabetes mellitus, metabolic syndrome Renal - Acute renal failure, acute tubular necrosis, pyelonephritis Integumentary - Acne, burns, pressure ulcers Reproductive - Breast, cervical, ovarian, and prostate cancer Special chapter features: Vision Quest - End-of-chapter quizzes in the form of puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions, to help you retain vital information Risky business - Risk factors to be aware of while treating each condition How it happens - The physiological process that creates a particular condition What to look for - A list of symptoms for each condition Age-old story - Discusses how a condition develops and presents, according to the patient's age Memory board - Visual tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Lippincott Visual Nursing by For an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing , 3rd Edition . Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases. . . NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW flow charts showing clinical manifestations and leading to diagnosis, showing improvement or decline NEW format --tests, procedures, and treatments for each system now appearing before discussion of diseases NEW diagnoses added for diseases throughout the text Dozens of colorful illustrations, photos, waveforms, and diagrams that clearly demonstrate concepts and descriptions Step-by-step guidance on basic assessment skills, including: gathering subjective and objective data, questions to ask, documentation, and more Step-by-step assessment and treatment instructions that enhance your nursing skills and confidence Chapters addressing individual body systems: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, renal and urologic, hematologic and immunologic, endocrine, integumentary, and male and female reproductive care Each body system chapter addresses: Major diseases affecting that system Normal anatomy--descriptions and images Pathophysiology of common health problems Lab tests and imaging studies Disease development Signs, symptoms, stages, and prevention Treatments--drug therapies, procedures, and surgery Nursing considerations--assessing patient decision-making ability, monitoring for complications, checking vital signs, post-operative care, and more Comparative charts that list diseases, their causes, persons at risk, symptoms, assessment findings, diagnoses, treatments, interventions Ideal study and review text for visual learners --colorful images that support other nursing texts, making it easy to learn and retain information Summarizes the major diseases and nursing considerations and interventions clearly and concisely Chapter features that include: Picturing Patho --flowcharts that show the effects of complex diseases Hands On --photographs that illustrate nursing procedures and treatments Lesson Plans --summaries of vital information for patient and family education Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Debra P. Kantor, PhD, RN, is an Associate Professor of Nursing at The Barbara H. Hagan School of Nursing, Molloy College, Rockville Centre, New York.
Publication Date: 2018-02-17
Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice by Be ready to prescribe and administer drugs safely and effectively--and grasp all the vitals of pharmacology--with the fully updated Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice, 4th edition . Written by pharmacology nursing experts, this easy-to-read text offers proven frameworks for treating more than 50 common diseases and disorders. Learn how to identify disorders, review possible therapies, then prescribe and monitor drug treatment, accurately. Based on current evidence and real-life patient scenarios, this is the perfect pharmacology learning guide and on-the-spot clinical resource. Absorb the key principles and practical methods for accurate prescribing and monitoring, with . . . NEW chapter on Parkinson's disease , osteoarthritis, and rheumatoid arthritis NEW and updated therapies, and updated and additional case studies, with sample questions NEW content on the impacts of the Affordable Care Act Updated chapters on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) and pharmacogenomics Updated evidence-based algorithms and drug tables - Listing uses, mechanisms, adverse effects, drug interactions, contraindications, and monitoring parameters, organized by drug class; quick access to generic and trade names and dosages Quick-scan format organizes information by body system Chapter features include: Brief overview - Pathophysiology of each disorder, and relevant classes of drugs Monitoring Patient Response section - What to monitor, and when Patient Education section - Includes information on CAM for each disorder Drug Overview tables - Usual dose, contraindications and side effects, and special considerations Algorithms - Visual cues on how to approach treatment Updated Recommended Order of Treatment tables - First-, second- and third-line drug therapies for each disorder Answers to Case Study Questions for each disorder - Strengthens critical thinking skills Selecting the Most Appropriate Agent section - The thought process for choosing an initial drug therapy Principles of Therapeutics unit - Avoiding medication errors; pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics; impact of drug interactions and adverse events; principles of pharmacotherapy for pediatrics, pregnancy/lactation, and geriatrics Disorders units - Pharmacotherapy for disorders in various body systems Pharmacotherapy in Health Promotion unit - Smoking cessation, immunizations, weight management Women's Health unit - Including contraception, menopause, and osteoporosis Integrative Approach to Patient Care unit - Issues to consider when presented with more than one diagnosis Standard pharmacotherapeutics text for nurse practitioners, students, and physician assistants Ancillaries - Case Study answers, multiple choice questions and answers for every chapter, PowerPoints, Acronyms List
Publication Date: 2016-08-17