Research Guides: History: Research

Contact Us

tulibrary@thomasu.edu

229-227-6959

Make an appointment with a Librarian

Make an appointment with a Tutor

Overwhelmed by the number of search results in GALILEO?
Try searching one of these subject-specific databases!

Primary Sources

Annals of American History (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
Includes the full text of primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides access to nearly 3,000 digitized newspapers.
Civil War in the American South
Provides a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL).
Digital Library of Georgia
A gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.
Digital Public Library of America
Offers a single point of access to millions of items--photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more--from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.
History Reference Center
Reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and historical video.
Vanishing Georgia
Contains nearly 18,000 photographs documenting over 100 years of the state's history. Topics covered include family and business life, street scenes and architecture, agriculture, school and civic activities, important individuals and events in Georgia history, and landscapes.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Provides information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Secondary Sources

Academic Search Complete
Including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Biographies (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
Provides access to hundreds of biographies on famous historical and contemporary figures from around the world.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

QH
353
.S56
2013

The TU Library utilizes the Library of Congress Classification System.
Look on an item's spine to find its call number.

Class D - World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.

D | History (General)

DA | Great Britain

DW | Central Europe

DB | Austria, Liechtenstein, Hungary, Czechoslovakia

DC | France, Andorra, Monaco

DD | Germany

DE | Greco-Roman World

DF | Greece

DG | Italy, Malta

DH | Low Countries, Benelux Countries

DJ | Netherlands (Holland)

DJK | Eastern Europe (General)

DK | Russia, Soviet Union, Former Soviet Republics, Poland

DL | Northern Europe, Scandinavia

DP | Spain, Portugal

DQ | Switzerland

DR | Balkan Peninsula

DS | Asia

DT | Africa

DU | Oceania (South Seas)

DX | Romanies

Class E-F - History of the Americas

E11-E143 | America

E151-E909 | United States

F1-F975 | United States Local History

F1001-F1145.2 | British America (including Canada), Dutch America

F1170 | French America

F1201-F3799 | Latin America, Spanish America

Class J - Political Science

JK | Political Institutions and Public Administration (United States)

[History (General) and History of Europe:] Contains ca. 12,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
[History America:] Contains ca. 12,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Scholarly content made available through the website includes monographs, edited collections and shorter form works in the following categories: History, Classics, Law, Politics.

Primary sources on slavery, Mexican American, Asian American, and Native American history, and U.S. political, social, and legal history.
Provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
They've migrated most of their American Memory collections to new presentations: Remaining Collections and Migrated Collections.
A major collaborative endeavor to preserve and make accessible through digital technology a significant body of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure.
Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept forever.
Locate, analyze, and learn from online primary sources and further understanding of the complex nature of world history, especially the issues of cultural contact and globalization.

Secondary Resources

Contains daily features, photo galleries and over 5,000 articles originally published in various magazines: America’s Civil War, Aviation History, American History, Civil War Times, Military History, Military History Quarterly, Vietnam, Wild West, and World War II.
Consists of about 300 narratives (the alphabetical list runs from Aegean Civilization to Zoroastrianism) and some 10,000 events on searchable timelines.
Contains ninety lectures in European history from ancient Sumer to the fall of Soviet-style communism in 1989.
Features articles and excerpts by historians from both the left and the right.
An expanding scientific project presenting 3,000 years of world history with an interactive combination of synchronoptic lifelines, timelines, and maps.

Speeches

Abraham Lincoln
The source of this small sample of speeches is The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln, edited by Roy P. Basler. Introductions to individual documents are by Abraham Lincoln Online. Documents housed on other Web sites are noted as such.
Top 100 Speeches of the 20th Century
Full text, audio, and video database of the 100 most significant American political speeches of the 20th century, according to 137 leading scholars of American public address,
Famous Speeches & Audio
Topics include 9/11 Attacks, Black History, Civil Rights Movement, Cold War, Inaugural Addresses, Korean War, Presidential Elections, Vietnam War, Women's History, and World War II.