Research Guides: ENG 102: Composition II: Research

Contact Us

tulibrary@thomasu.edu

229-227-6959

Research

Overwhelmed by the number of search results in GALILEO?
Try searching one of these Literature and Literary Criticism databases!

Literary Reference Center Plus
Literary Reference Center Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Literature Online (LION) (ProQuest Platform)
LION (Literature Online) is a full-text library of over 330,000 works of British and American poetry, drama and prose. In addition to literary texts, LION includes biographical sketches of major writers, selected author bibliographies, and critical and reference works.
MLA International Bibliography (literature and language)
The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.

ADVANCED SEARCH

COURSE RESERVES

PN
41
.H355
2009

The TU Library utilizes the Library of Congress Classification System.
Look on an item's spine to find its call number.

Class P - Language and Literature

PE | English Language

PN | Literature (General)

PQ | French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese Literature

PR | English Literature [British, Australian, Canadian, etc.]

PS | American Literature

PT | German, Dutch, Scandinavian, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, etc. Literature

PZ | Fiction and Juvenile Belles Lettres [Childrens', Young Adult, etc.]

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators give you more control over your search results. Boolean search logic lets you relate different search terms through the use of three Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT. You can find these operators in the Advanced Search section of GALILEO.

AND

The word AND will limit your search results by combining two or more key terms or phrases. For example, searching for "Global Warming" AND "Climate Change" will decrease your number of search results by only giving you the results that include both phrases.

OR

The word OR can be used to expand your search results by including terms that are used interchangeably. For example, the words Adolescent and Teenager are synonyms. Searching for Adolescent OR Teenager will increase your number of search results by giving you results that include either one term or the other--or even both terms.

NOT

The word NOT will exclude certain terms from your search. For example, searching for "Gap Year" NOT Britain will decrease your number of search results by not including results that talk about Britain.

Grouping: Quotation Marks

Use quotation marks to turn words into phrases. For example, searching for either "working mothers" or "common core" will only give you search results where the two words are used together as a phrase. When you search these words without the quotation marks, your results will show one word or the other, and sometimes both together, so using quotation marks guarantees that both of your search terms will be in the articles in your results list.

Truncation: Asterisks

In most, but not all, databases, using an asterisk at the end of a word will search for all variations of that word. For example, searching for "educational strategy*" will give you search results containing either "educational strategies" or "educational strategy," as well as other variations of the phrase.