Research Guides: BUS 330: International Business: Resources A-Z

Key Search Terms

Profitability
Long term growth
Industry
- Market saturation rate
- Competitiveness
- Growth rate
- Life cycle stage
Market trends
- PESTEL
Marketing research report
Opportunities
Shortcomings

Contact Us

tulibrary@thomasu.edu

229-227-6959

Make an appointment with a Librarian

Make an appointment with a Tutor

Resources

Public Company Websites

Google search the company name and "investor relations." This will often provide links to Annual Reports; financial reports such as 10-K, 10-Q, and 8-K; and corporate social responsibility reports.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries.

American Fact Finder
Somewhat more unwieldy than Census QuickFacts, American Factfinder provides social and demographic information for households, states, cities, and counties.

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest)
Provides company profile reports. Look for NAICS and SIC Industry Codes within the company profiles to use as key search terms.
Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface)
Country Reports, on the right side tool bar, links to extensive current reports providing information on the PESTEL factors in different countries. Also an excellent source for Industry Profiles.

Census QuickFacts
Provides demographic statistics for the United States and all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Environmental Protection Agency
EPA's Report on the Environment (ROE) shows how the condition of the U.S. environment and human health is changing over time.
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
The IPCC’s reports are comprehensive and balanced assessments of the state of knowledge on topics related to climate change. There are different types of reports but all go through a rigorous process of scoping, drafting and review to ensure the highest quality.
The New York Times
Available from June 1980 through ProQuest.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that studies "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."
Pew Research Center: Global Indicators Database
Conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
A public opinion/polling database of 500,000+ questions and answers on a wide range of topics collected by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research; data covers 1935-present.
The Wall Street Journal
Available from January 2010 through ProQuest.
World Wide Fund for Nature
Regularly publishes reports, fact sheets and other documents on issues related to its work, to raise awareness and provide information to policy and decision makers.