Political factors include government policies, leadership, and change; foreign trade policies; internal political issues and trends; tax policy; regulation and deregulation trends.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries.
The New York TimesAvailable from June 1980 through ProQuest.
The Wall Street JournalAvailable from January 2010 through ProQuest.
Pew Research CenterA nonpartisan fact tank that studies "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."
Pew Research Center: Global Indicators DatabaseConducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.
Economic factors include current and projected economic growth; inflation and interest rates; job growth and unemployment; labor costs; impact of globalization; disposable income of consumers and businesses; likely changes in the economic environment.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries.
Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface) Country Reports, on the right side tool bar, links to extensive current reports providing information on the PESTEL factors in different countries. Also an excellent source for Industry Profiles.
Social factors include demographics (age, gender, race, family size); consumer attitudes, opinions, and buying patterns; population growth rate and employment patterns; socio-cultural changes; ethnic and religious trends; living standards.
Pew Research CenterA nonpartisan fact tank that studies "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."
Pew Research Center: Global Indicators DatabaseConducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.
Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchA public opinion/polling database of 500,000+ questions and answers on a wide range of topics collected by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research; data covers 1935-present.
Census QuickFactsProvides demographic statistics for the United States and all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
American Fact FinderSomewhat more unwieldy than Census QuickFacts, American Factfinder provides social and demographic information for households, states, cities, and counties.
Technological factors affect marketing in (1) new ways of producing goods and services; (2) new ways of distributing goods and services; (3) new ways of communicating with target markets.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries.
Pew Research CenterA nonpartisan fact tank that studies "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."
Pew Research Center: Global Indicators DatabaseConducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.
Environmental factors are important due to the increasing scarcity of raw materials; pollution targets; doing business as an ethical and sustainable company; carbon footprint targets.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries.
Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface) Country Reports, on the right side tool bar, links to extensive current reports providing information on the PESTEL factors in different countries. Also an excellent source for Industry Profiles.
Environmental Protection AgencyEPA's Report on the Environment (ROE) shows how the condition of the U.S. environment and human health is changing over time.
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate ChangeThe IPCC’s reports are comprehensive and balanced assessments of the state of knowledge on topics related to climate change. There are different types of reports but all go through a rigorous process of scoping, drafting and review to ensure the highest quality.
World Wide Fund for NatureRegularly publishes reports, fact sheets and other documents on issues related to its work, to raise awareness and provide information to policy and decision makers.
Legal factors include health and safety; equal opportunities; advertising standards; consumer rights and laws; product labeling and product safety.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries.
Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface) Country Reports, on the right side tool bar, links to extensive current reports providing information on the PESTEL factors in different countries. Also an excellent source for Industry Profiles.
