Skip to main content

BUS 330: Home

Welcome

Welcome BUS 330 Students!

This guide will help you with your Global Business Plan Analysis.

 

Get Started Here!

Business Market Research Collection. Provides company profile reports. Look for NAICS and SIC Industry Codes within the company profiles to use as a keyword later.

Industry Codes

NAICS- The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

SIC- The Standard Industrial Classification is a system for classifying industries by a four digit code. 

Key Terms

  • Profitability
  • Long term growth
  • Industry
    • Market saturation rate
    • Competitiveness
    • Growth rate
    • Life cycle stage
  • Market trends
    • PESTEL
  • Marketing research report
  • Opportunities
  • Shortcomings

Political

Political factors include government policies, leadership, and change; foreign trade policies; internal political issues and trends; tax policy; regulation and de-regulation trends.

ABI/InformProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries

Wall Street Journal.  Available from 1984-present in ProQuest Newsstand.

New York Times.  Available from 1980-present in ProQuest Newsstand.

Pew Research Center.  A nonpartisan fact tank that studies "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."

Pew Research Center Global Indicators Database.  Pew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.

Economic

Economic factors include current and projected economic growth; inflation and interest rates; job growth and unemployment; labor costs; impact of globalization; disposable income of consumers and businesses; likely changes in the economic environment.

ABI/InformProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries

Business Source CompleteCountry Reports, on the right side tool bar, links to extensive current reports providing information on the PESTEL factors in different countries.  Also an excellent source for Industry Profiles.

Social

Social factors include demographics (age, gender, race, family size); consumer attitudes, opinions, and buying patterns; population growth rate and employment patterns; socio-cultural changes; ethnic and religious trends; living standards. 

Pew Research Center.  A nonpartisan fact tank that studies "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."

Pew Research Center Global Indicators Database.  Pew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.

iPOLL (Roper Center-Cornell University).  A public opinion/polling database of 500,000+ questions and answers on a wide range of topics collected by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research; data covers 1935-present.

Census QuickFacts (U.S.Census Bureau).  Provides demographic statistics for the United States and all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bureau).  Somewhat more unwieldy than Census QuickFacts, American Factfinder provides social and demographic information for households, states, cities, and counties.

Technological

Technological factors affect marketing in (1) new ways of producing goods and services; (2) new ways of distributing goods and services; (3) new ways of communicating with target markets.

ABI/InformProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries

Pew Research Center.  A nonpartisan fact tank that studies "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."

Pew Research Center Global Indicators Database.  Pew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.

ABI/InformProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries

Legal

Legal factors include health and safety; equal opportunities; advertising standards; consumer rights and laws; product labeling and product safety.

ABI/InformProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries

Business Source CompleteCountry Reports, on the right side tool bar, links to extensive current reports providing information on the PESTEL factors in different countries.  Also an excellent source for Industry Profiles.

Environmental

Environmental factors are important due to the increasing scarcity of raw materials; pollution targets; doing business as an ethical and sustainable company; carbon footprint targets.

ABI/InformProvides company profiles and reports about products and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. Study and compare specific industries

Business Source CompleteCountry Reports, on the right side tool bar, links to extensive current reports providing information on the PESTEL factors in different countries.  Also an excellent source for Industry Profiles.

EPA- EPA's (Environmental Protection Agency) Report on the Environment (ROE) shows how the condition of the U.S. environment and human health is changing over time. 

IPCCThe IPCC’s (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) reports are comprehensive and balanced assessments of the state of knowledge on topics related to climate change. There are different types of reports but all go through a rigorous process of scoping, drafting and review to ensure the highest quality.

WWF- Regularly publishes reports, fact sheets and other documents on issues related to its work, to raise awareness and provide information to policy and decision makers