Skip to main content

Master of Business Administration: Online Program

This LibGuide will host resources for TU's online Masters of Business Administration program.

How to use GALILEO off-campus

To use GALILEO off-campus go to the library webpage.

Under "Resources" click on "Anywhere Access" then click on ANYWHERE ACCESS in the middle of the next page.

Log in to "Thomas University Library Resources" with your Hawklink/Blackboard log in information. The next page is your portal to the library catalog, eBooks, GALILEO, and more.

Use the password found beneath the GALILEO box after clicking on the box. You may be prompted to enter this password once you start searching within GALILEO.


How to find Business Databases:

To find the databases shown to the right click on the yellow "Browse by Subject" tab. Then click on "Business" and in the drop down box click on any subject related to your topic.


How to search Business Databases:

Start your search in Academic Search Complete in any sub-category under the Business category. Make sure to check off your search limiters such as "Full-Text" and "Scholarly" to ensure that your results page will have articles qualified for an academic paper.

Try your search in another database, like Business Search Complete, Accounting and Tax Database, or LexisNexis. Note that some databases look differently than others and your search limiters will be in different locations.

[Librarian Tip: It's best to try your search in multiple databases because they offer different journal and magazine coverage. You may get results in one database that you won't find in another.]

GALILEO

Scholarly VS. Popular

Criteria Scholarly Journal Popular Magazine
Example
Content In-depth, primary account of original findings written by the researcher(s); very specific information, with the goal of scholarly communication. Secondary discussion of someone else's research; may include personal narrative or opinion; general information, purpose is to entertain or inform.
Author Author's credentials are provided; usually a scholar or specialist with subject expertise. Author is frequently a journalist paid to write articles, may or may not have subject expertise.
Audience Scholars, researchers, and students. General public; the interested non-specialist.
Language Specialized terminology or jargon of the field; requires expertise in subject area. Vocabulary in general usage; easily understandable to most readers.
Graphics Graphs, charts, and tables; very few advertisements and photographs. Graphs, charts and tables; lots of glossy advertisements and photographs.
Layout & Organization Structured; includes the article abstract, goals and objectives, methodology, results (evidence), discussion, conclusion, and bibliography. Informal; may include non-standard formatting. May not present supporting evidence or a conclusion.
Accountability Articles are evaluated by peer-reviewers* or referees who are experts in the field; edited for content, format, and style. Articles are evaluated by editorial staff, not experts in the field; edited for format and style.
References Required. Quotes and facts are verifiable. Rare. Little, if any, information about source materials is given.
Other Examples Annals of Mathematics, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, History of Education Quarterly, Almost anything with Journal in the title.

Time, Newsweek, The Nation, The Economist

(Modified table from Tufts)