For over 40 years, Gallery Guide has been the definitive connection between art lovers and art. Gallery Guide’s four print editions cover gallery and museum exhibitions coast-to-coast in the US.
Gallery Guide online features artworks, events, and artist biographies posted by galleries and art organizations around the world. Gallery Guide is fully searchable on BLOUIN ARTINFO, the art world’s “must read daily” online. With it’s global art audience, it’s simply the most comprehensive way to find the most collectors of art anywhere.
Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online, Union List of Artist Names, Cultural Objects Name Authority & More
The Getty vocabularies contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture, archival materials, visual surrogates, and bibliographic materials. Compliant with international standards, they provide authoritative information for catalogers and researchers, and can be used to enhance access to databases and Web sites. The Getty Vocabularies grow through contributions. The vocabulary data is available for licensing and accessible free of charge below for more limited online use.
Getty Provenance Index® databases, which currently contain 1.5 million records taken from source material such as archival inventories, auction catalogs, and dealer stock books.
What does provenance mean?
From the French word provenir, which means "to come from," provenance is the history of ownership of a valued object, such as a work of art. A full provenance provides a documented history that can help prove ownership, assign the work to a known artist, and establish the work of art's authenticity. See an example of how the Provenance Index was used to trace the ownership of Peter Paul Rubens's The Entombment after it was purchased by the J. Paul Getty Museum.
The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database (LitMed) is a collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created as a dynamic, comprehensive resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities. It was created by faculty of the New York University School of Medicine in 1993. The annotations are written by an invited editorial board of scholars from all over North America.
WATCH is a database of copyright contacts for writers, artists, and prominent people in other creative fields. It is a joint project of the Harry Ransom Center and University of Reading Library in England. Founded in 1994 as a resource principally for copyright questions about literary manuscripts held in the U.S. and the U.K., it has now grown into one of the largest databases of copyright holders in the world.